Georgia State Society Home
Meetings and Events
Student Scholarship Requirements and Proceedures
Meetings Photo Gallery
District Councillor Message
Officer's Corner

District Councillor Message


AMT's 81st Educational Meeting and Educational Program was held at the Chicago Hilton, Chicago, Illinois. There were 401 registered members, guests and students in attendance.

AMT’s 82nd Educational Program and National Meeting will be in Albuquerque, New Mexico at the Hyatt Regency Albuquerque 330 Tijeras NW Albuquerque, New Mexico 87102 July 13-16, 2020. Room rates will be $ 129 + tax for a total of $146.90 per night single or double occupancy. Plan your vacation around the AMT national meeting as there is so much to see and do in Albuquerque. AMT’s 2021 meeting will be held in the Southern District.

Award recipients from the Southern District received their awards at the awards banquet and convocation in Chicago, Illinois as follows: OGM – Everett Bloodworth, MT – Kentucky; MOM – Solomon Goldenberg, RMA – Florida; Cuviello Commitment to Excellence Alice Macomber, RMA, RPT, AHI – Florida; RPT of the Year – Alice Macomber, RMA, RPT, AHI – Florida; Pride of the Profession – Paul Brown, MT– Alabama; Becky Award – Linda Jones Sotak, MT Virginia; President’s Award – Daniel Benson, RMA, RPT – Alabama; GEM Award Lisa Bromley, RMA – Kentucky; Everett Bloodworth, MT – Kentucky, Nancy Barrow, MT – Virginia, Alice Macomber, RMA, RPT, AHI – Florida, Jerry Hudgins, MT – Tennessee; Exceptional Merit - Zobida Khan-Mohammed, MT, RPT – CASMET; Deborah Janeczko, RMA - Florida Distinguished Achievement - Lisa Bromley, RMA – Kentucky; Selina King, RMA – Kentucky, Charlene Lynch, RMA North Carolina; Chantal Jordan, RMA, RPT, CMAS – Georgia; Cynthia Perkins, RMA, CMAS – Alabama; Teresa Workman, MT- Alabama; Silver Service – Michele Gillies, MT – Alabama; Naomi Melvin, MT – Florida; Legacy Tribute – David McCullough, MT – North Carolina; Publication Awards - Journal 3rd Place – CASMET Richard Singh, RPT Editor; Newsletter 2nd Place – Florida - Florida News for Allied Health Professionals – Kathleene Hardy, RMA; Most Improved Publication – CASMET – Richard Singh, RPT Editor; Editor of the Year – Kathleene Hardy, RMA – Florida; Honor Roll State Societies - Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia. Student Technical Writing Award 1st Place: Imani Manning, “Escherichia coli: The Friend and the Foe” Winston-Salem State University, Greensboro, North Carolina. 2nd Place: Jennifer Preuss Osborne, “Dirofilariasis Immitis”. Winston-Salem State University, Winston-Salem, NC. Dusty Rhodes Life Award – Luther (Ray) Dean, MT - North Carolina. Congratulations to each of you. You have worked tirelessly for your state society and AMT and are so deserving of your award. I am proud of all your accomplishments.

Kathy Sutton, MT was the new member elected to the Board of Directors. Chris Seay, MT - Tennessee and Jeannie Hobson, RMA, RPT, CMAS, AHI - California were re-elected to their third term. AMT Officers are President: Jeannette Hobson, RMA, RPT, CMAS, AHI; Vice President: Christopher Seay, MT; Secretary: Deborah Westervelt, RMA, COLT and Treasurer: Ken Hawker, MT.

Medical Assistants Recognition Week (MARW) is October 21-25, 2019. Registered Medical Assistants (RMA) will be celebrating the theme “Medical Assistants: At the Heart of Healthcare”. Download the 2019 logo and promo kit from the AMT website, Be Involved, Professional Recognition Weeks, Medical Assistant Recognition Week and help get the word out in your state.

CASMET will hold their Biennial General Meeting & Scientific Symposium October 14-18, 2019 at the Radisson Hotel Trinidad.

AMT continues to work on strategic planning for the organizations sound future. Stay tuned for more information as it becomes available.

If you have any questions or need assistance, please do not hesitate to email me at or phone me at (h) 615-833-3427 or (c) 615-424-0550.

Respectfully submitted,
Kaye A. Tschop, MT (AMT)
Southern District Councillor