Welcome to the Texas State Society Website!

President's Message

We have just returned from the Texas State Society’s 2016 Fall Conference in Round Rock, Texas. I want to thank Viviana Pelton, our host for such an exciting convention. I was really amazed at the spooky Halloween theme that our convention host, Michelle Hege, created for us.

Our own Sibyl Allenson was inducted into the Hall of Fame at this meeting. We are so proud of her. Other Fall of Fame recipients that were in attendance include Vernell Boyd, Tommy Mc Gonagill, Michelle Jenkins and Jim Kinney. The State of Texas awards were also presented, including the President’s Award, to Katrina Fryar, the Outstanding RMA went to Jean Palmer, the Outstanding MT Award to David Finch, and the Special Recognition Award went to Michelle Hege. They have all been an essential part of the Texas AMT Society.

The ballots for the election of the 2017/2018 Texas Board were counted and the winners announced. Our new Board of Directors are Katrina Fryar, President, Jean Palmer, Vice-President, T. J. Weatherly, Treasurer, and Celia MacDonald, Secretary. Congratulations to each of these members and I look forward to serving with them in the future.

Ron White has agreed to host the Spring 2017 meeting and it will be in the Dallas/Fort Worth area. We don’t have a date at this time but look for an email blast in the future as soon as we get the location and hotel accommodations ready. As for the National AMT Conference, it will be held in Kansas City, Missouri on July 9th through July 17th. The hotel accommodations will be at the Leisure Hotel at the Plaza and the room rates are $129 a night so make your reservations.

Taffy K. Durfee

Get Connected


10700 West Higgins Rd, Suite 150
Rosemont, IL 60018
Phone: 847.823.5169
Fax: 847.823.0458